England finish top of the medals board at Commonwealth Youth Games 2011

The Commonwealth Youth Games finished today with England overtaking Australia in the Gold Medal table to finish with 37 gold medals to their 29.

The Commonwealth Youth Games are a smaller version of the Commonwealth Games, with the very first Youth Commonwealth Games being held in Scotland in 2000.  To take part in the Games athletes must be aged between 14 and 18 in the year of competition.

This year the Isle of Man, a small island situated in the Irish Sea, has hosted the Games and has seen no shortage of sporting talent in the young athletes that have taken part.

Athletes have competed for medals across seven sports: athletics, badminton, boxing, cycling, gymnastics, rugby 7’s and swimming.

To get a full list of results please visit the official Commonwealth Youth Games 2011 site.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s